The Eastern Partnership summit in Vilnius, Lithuania in late November may change the dynamics of the relationship between the EU and six post-Soviet countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. It is expected that Ukraine and perhaps Moldova will sign an Association Agreement with the European Union, effectively marking the end of Russia's dominance in post-Soviet Eastern Europe.

This Russia Direct Brief analyzes what implications this integration initiative could have for Eastern Partnership member states and other stakeholders in the region.


"Redrawing Eastern Europe" is written by Timofey Bordachev, Director at the Center for Comprehensive European and International Studies of the Higher School of Economics.